Silver work center amai setia in Koto gadang village
Ramzi smart travel | silver work | koto gadang | amai setia | Bukittinggi is connected to Padang by road, though a dysfunctional railway line also exists. For inner-city transport, Bukittinggi employs a public transportation system known as Mersi (Merapi Singgalang) and IKABE that connect locations within the city. The city also still preserves the traditional horse-cart widely known in the area as Bendi, although the use is limited and more popular to be used as vehicle for tourist, both domestic and foreign.
Bukittinggi is divided in 3 subdistricts (kecamatan), which are further divided into 5 villages (nagari) and 24 kelurahan. The subdistricts are:
- Guguk Panjang, Mandiangin Koto Selayan, and Aur Birugo Tigo Baleh.
The city was known as Fort de Kock during colonial times in reference to the Dutch outpost established here in 1825 during the padri war. The fort was founded by Captain Bauer at the top of Jirek hill and later named after the then Lieutenant Governor-General of the Dutch East Indies, Hendrik Merkus de Kock.The first road connecting the region with the west coast was built between 1833 and 1841 via the Anai Gorge, easing troop movements, cutting the costs of transportation and providing an economic stimulus for the agricultural economy. In 1856 a teacher-training college (Kweekschool) was founded in the city, the first in Sumatra, as part of a policy to provide educational opportunities to the indigenous population. A rail line connecting the city with Payakumbuh and Padang was constructed between 1891 and 1894.
It is a city popular with tourists due to the climate and central location. Attractions within the city include:
- Ngarai Sianok (Sianok Canyon)
- Lobang Jepang (Japanese Caves) - a network of underground bunkers & tunnels built by the Japanese during World War II
- Jam Gadang - a large clock tower built by the Dutch in 1926.
- Pasar Atas and Pasar Bawah - traditional markets in downtown.
- Taman Bundo Kanduang park. The park includes a replica Rumah Gadang (literally: big house, with the distinctive Minangkabau roof architecture) used as a museum of Minangkabau culture, and a zoo. The Dutch hilltop outpost Fort de Kock is connected to the zoo by the Limpapeh Bridge pedestrian overpass.
- Museum Rumah Kelahiran Bung Hatta (Museum of Bung Hatta Birthplace) - the house where Indonesian founding father Mohammad Hatta was born, now a museum.
as we know above of sianok canyon that still have any county ec koto gadang county , sianok county , koto kaciak county and koto tuo county.especialy for koto gadang county is famous with silver work
panoramic view from bukittinggi to sianok canyon wow that nice scenery
a big clock its made when more then a handret years ago . its build when holland people exist in Indonesia
This is a traditional market open one times a week in " koto tuo " . This village is site on foot of singgalang mountain.Thats why the seasons is so cool
A traditional hand made sal that so sweety . make about as long as a month
This is my "koto gadang " traditional fam house a yellow one